What is a Boomerang?
Occasionally, a conversation may require follow up at a later time. A boomerang will move a conversation from either Pending or Resolved back into the New queue after a set period of time.
You can manually set a conversation to boomerang back to the New queue by clicking on the clock-like icon next to the Pending or Resolved buttons.
- Agents can define a range of time frames or create a custom boomerang by clicking on the calendar.
- Agents can also add notes to the boomerang to add context as to why a boomerang has been set.
- If ownership is assigned to a conversation when a boomerang is set, it will only be retained if the boomerang is set when moved into Pending, not Resolved.
- You can cancel a boomerang at any time. Canceling a boomerang on a conversation from the Pending state will retain ownership.
Visual indication of conversations with boomerang
Conversations with boomerangs will show a boomerang indicator in the Pending and Resolved queues.
A default boomerang for all Pending conversations can be set as well.
Admins must navigate to Settings, Queue, Preferencesto manage, and update your default System Boomerang.
This is where you can decide after how much time conversations in the pending queue will automatically move back to the new queue.
- If you enable the boomerang feature, make sure the duration is less than the auto-resolve from the pending queue setting. Otherwise, the conversation will get resolved and the boomerang is canceled.